Searching and managing player data
Through the Player Search dashboard, you can view and manage data stored on your behalf for your players on the Epic Online Services (EOS) backend. This page provides a guide on what to expect and how to use these tools on the Developer Portal.
Note: See the Ticketing System documentation for additional information if you use player ticketing.
Player Search on the Developer Portal
Click image for full size.
From your organization’s home page, click Player Search to search for players using different user ID types:
- Product User ID (PUID)
- Player Account ID - a unique ID from an external platform, for example, a player's Epic Games account ID or Steam ID.
- Epic Account for development - an Epic account linked with a console development account.
The search results will let you review the player’s Player Profile, their Linked Accounts used to play the game, and a Data Rights section allowing you to export and delete all stored data about the player.
Click image for full size.
In the Player Profile tab, you can see various game service features that your product has enabled and the player data for each feature. The interfaces currently available are:
- Player Data Storage
In the Linked Accounts tab, you can find external accounts the player has linked to their Product User ID. This section is intended to be used by your organization's player support to resolve end-user issues, such as unlinking an accidentally linked external account. You can also review the full account linking history for the player.
Note: The Linked Accounts tab can also give options for console development accounts. For more information, see the Console Development Accounts section below.
Unlink a Player's Account
Players may wish to change which external accounts they have linked through EOS Connect for various reasons. Some examples are:
- If the player no longer wants to maintain an account for a given identity provider.
- If the player wants to link a different identity provider account with a different username.
- If you have to unlink a player’s account with a specific identity provider for security or fraud prevention measures.
The Unlink Account button will remove a linked account for an identity provider. Once you unlink an account, your organization will no longer track it, and the player can no longer sign in to your products using that identity provider unless they re-link.
When you unlink an account, it is instantaneous, as it does not necessarily remove other linked accounts or remove the player from EOS. If you unlink an external account from an Epic account, and you try to unlink the last linked account, or the only linked account for a player, you will be presented with a warning alerting you that you cannot unlink the only sign-in method.
Console Development Accounts
If your product uses Epic Account Services (EAS), when you sign up to your product on a console development environment, your console development account will be associated to a new Epic Games account. When you search for an Epic Games account using Player Search, the results will return the Epic Games account as well as the console developer accounts associated with it.
In the Linked Accounts tab, you can delete the associated Epic Games account. This can be used, for example, to enable testing the Epic accounts sign-in flow again, re-using the same console development account.
Note: When you have an Epic Games account that has been created on a console development environment, you cannot:
- Unlink the console development account.
- Access the created Epic Games account outside of the console device. This is because the linked console development account cannot be used for signing in outside the console devkit device.
When you sign into Epic Games on a web browser using a console development account, you will be prompted to assign an email and a password to the linked Epic Games account. After you do this, the Epic Games account can be accessed outside of the console development environment. This allows you to connect additional external accounts to the Epic Games account, under the Apps and Accounts section of Account Settings.
Note: After you assigned username and password to the Epic Games account, you can only unlink the Epic Games account from your Organization or the external accounts from the Epic Games account. You will not be able to delete the Epic Games account itself.
Click image for full size.
The Data Rights section allows exporting and deleting all data stored for the player in the game services backend. You can also export and delete player data for a specific product, if they have used multiple products published by your organization.
Export Player Data
You can click the Export Product Data button for any product to request the player's progression and player data for that specific product (this does not include organization data associated with that
userId). This request is linked with the player's product user ID, which is unique to each of your products. Alternatively, the Export All Data button at the top of the page will request the player’s data for all products your organization manages, including all organization data associated with that
You, the requester at your organization, will be emailed a link to a bundle containing the requested data. This bundle will be accessible for 30 days, after which you must make a new request to obtain up-to-date data. You can issue requests to export data for an individual player once every 10 days. The maximum expected time to process a request is 14 days, though requests are usually processed more quickly.
The bundle might contain encrypted information, as in the case of Player Data Storage info. Use the File Decryption Tool to read encrypted data from Player Data Storage or Title Storage services.
Delete Player Data
Some circumstances may require deleting a player's data completely. For example:
- You want to permanently remove the player due to a violation.
- The player's account data may become corrupted or compromised.
- The player may specifically request that their account data be removed.
Clicking Delete Product Data for a given product will permanently delete the user's player and progression data for that product.
The Delete User button at the top of the page will delete the player's data across all products managed by your organization. It will also unlink all their accounts for all identity providers and remove any organization data about that player not explicitly associated with any single product. This request has a 10-day grace period in case the deletion request is canceled, for example, in the case of a compromised account. During the grace period, the account remains searchable, but the player won’t be able to sign in through EOS Connect.
The Delete Product Data button can delete player progression data on a single product. Be aware that linked accounts and organization-level data associated with that userId are not affected by this operation and will remain in this case.
You cannot export data while a delete is in progress or vice versa.