Epic Online Services (EOS) is available as one of the service providers powering the online infrastructure for your video game. When used, Epic Online Services may be storing and processing player data on your behalf.
The Data Rights Services enable you to access and delete the data stored on your behalf for your users by Epic Online Services. This page provides a guide on how to use and what to expect of these tools that are available on the Developer Portal.
Note: If you use player ticketing, see the Ticketing System documentation for additional information.
Accessing User Data through the Developer Portal
You can request user data, as collected for the purpose of providing Epic Online Services to your Products, through the Developer Portal. From your organization’s home page, click Accounts to view the User Accounts page.
Click image for full size.
From this page, you can provide a Player ID for the user of your products whose data you want to retrieve and click Search to view their information. Once you locate a valid user, the page will display all of the identity providers and products the user has linked for use in your products.
Click image for full size.
Exporting User Data
You can click the Export Game Data button for any product to request that user's progression and player data for that specific product (this does not include organization data associated with that userId). This request is linked with the user's product user ID, which is unique to each of your products. Alternatively, the Export All Data button at the top of the page will request the user's data for all products managed by your organization, including organization data that is associated with that userId, not just the product.
The requester at your organization will be emailed a link to a bundle containing the requested data. This bundle will be accessible for 30 days, after which a new request will need to be made to obtain up-to-date data. You can issue requests to export data for an individual user once every 10 days. The maximum expected time to process a request is 14 days, though requests are usually processed more quickly.
The bundle might contain encrypted information, as in the case of Player Data Storage info. Use the File Decryption Tool to read encrypted data from either Player Data Storage and Title Storage services.
Unlinking a User's Account
Users may wish to change which accounts they have linked through EOS Connect—for example, if they decide they no longer want to maintain an account for a given identity provider, or if they have a different account with a different username that they want to link instead. Alternatively, it may be necessary to unlink a user's account with a specific identity provider as part of security or fraud prevention measures.
The Unlink Account button will remove a linked account for an identity provider. Once an account has been removed, it will no longer be tracked by your organization. The user will no longer be able to login to your products using that identity provider unless they are re-linked. When you unlink an account, it is instantaneous, as it does not necessarily remove other linked accounts or remove the user from EOS.
Deleting User Data
Some circumstances may necessitate deleting a user's data completely. For example, you might want to permanently remove the user due to a violation, their account data may become corrupted or compromised, or they may specifically request that their account data be removed.
Clicking Delete Game Data for a given product will permanently delete the user's player and progression data for that product.
The Delete User button at the top of the page will delete all of the user's data across all products managed by your organization. It will also unlink all of their accounts for all identity providers and remove any organization data about that user, not specifically associated with any single product. This request has a 10-day grace period in case the deletion request is canceled, for example, in the case of a compromised account. During the grace period, the account remains searchable, but the player won’t be able to log in through EOS Connect.
The Delete Game Data button can be used to simply delete user progression data on a single product. Be aware that linked accounts and organization-level data associated with that userId are not affected by this operation and will remain in this case.
You cannot export data while a delete is in progress or vice versa.