Epic Online Services (EOS) is available as one of the service providers powering the online infrastructure for your video game. When used, Epic Online Services may be storing and processing player data on your behalf.
The Data Rights Services enable you to access and delete the data stored on your behalf for your users by Epic Online Services. This page provides a guide on how to use and what to expect of these tools that are available on the Developer Portal.
Accessing User Data through the Developer Portal
You can request user data, as collected for the purpose of providing Epic Online Services to your Products, through the Developer Portal. From your organization's home page, click Accounts to view the User Accounts page.
From this page, you can provide a Player ID for the user of your products whose data you want to retrieve and click Search to view their information. Once you locate a valid user, the page will display all of the identity providers and products the user has linked for use in your products.
Exporting User Data
You can click the Export Data button for any application to request that user's progression and player data for that specific product. This request is linked with the user's product user ID, which is unique to each of your products. Alternatively, the Export All Data button at the bottom of the page will request the user's data for all products managed by your organization.
The requester at your organization will be emailed a link to a bundle containing the requested data. This bundle will be accessible for 30 days, after which a new request will need to be made to obtain up-to-date data. You can issue requests to export data for an individual user of your products once every 10 days. If you attempt to request data more than once within this period, the service will respond with a 409 Conflict error. The maximum expected time to process a request is 14 days, though requests are usually processed more quickly.
Unlinking a User's Account
Users may wish to change which accounts they have linked through EOS—for example, if they decide they no longer want to maintain an account for a given identity provider, or if they have a different account with a different username that they want to link instead. Alternatively, it may be necessary to unlink a user's account with a specific identity provider as part of security or fraud prevention measures.
The Unlink Account button will remove a linked account for an identity provider. Once an account has been removed, it will no longer be tracked by your organization. The user will no longer be able to login to your products using that identity provider unless they are re-linked. When you unlink an account, it is instantaneous, as it does not necessarily remove other linked accounts or remove the user from EOS.
Deleting User Data
Some circumstances may necessitate deleting a user's data completely. For example, you might want to permanently remove the user due to a violation, their account data may become corrupted or compromised, or they may specifically request that their account data be removed.
Clicking Delete Game Data for a given product will permanently delete the user's player and progression data for that product.
For more extreme circumstances, the Delete User button at the bottom of the page will delete all of the user's data across all products managed by your organization. It will also unlink all of their accounts for all identity providers. This request has a 10-day grace period in case the deletion request is canceled because of a compromised account. During the grace period, the account remains searchable and can be used to play games.
You cannot export data while a delete is in progress or vice versa.